Spinning Silver

I *was* reading Snow Crash but this came in and I couldn’t just let it sit there taunting me while I read a long book that would seem that much longer for me wanting to read something else instead. I tried to make a deal with myself that I would read a certain percent of the other first and then go on to this each day…but once this got going that didn’t happen.

So, it is good. I love the story and how everything in the different parts tied together. I love how this and Uprooted both seem like fresh new fairy tales with bits of folklore sprinkled in to make you feel like you are reading something older.

I kept wanting more romance which is unusual for me but there it is. I felt the same in Uprooted also. I suppose though they have the right amount for a fairy tale. Prince Charming would do his heroic bit and if you were lucky there was one kiss at the end. Here the heroes are heroines but the result is still much the same.

All together a very clever light read that was enjoyable from the beginning to the end.

Leave a comment