Outrageous Openness

This was a good little book that was a fast read with interesting stories in it. I enjoyed it. However…

I had a problem with the very Judeo Christian total humility thing. You know the ” I am nothing. God is everything. Anything good I have ever done wasn’t because of me but was because of God. To him be the glory.”. Perhaps I have heard this said falsely too many times or perhaps I just have a hard time with understanding how to be humble one minute and then be God’s perfect creation the next. Then again maybe I am just pagan and following deities that don’t want that. Odin picked great warriors and wise kings to show great favor. Not the most humble of dudes.

Another minor twitch was the giving everything over to the Divine Order suggestion but then saying an affirmation like “My perfect job is already out there. It will be mine when the time is right.” What if God doesn’t want you to have a job? What if he wants you to stay and change this job until it suits you? I suppose you could say then that the time was never right but it just seemed often very much like the affirmation practice that she actively putting down. Which gets to my final quibble.

I watched a video of her talking to Google people and checked out her website. You are immediately prompted to give your email. She talks a lot about having built a community of supportive people who share their advice and experiences with this practice. It sounds very loving and inviting…and it can be yours for the low low fee of $40 a month. It reminded me a little too much of all those supposedly successful people wanting to HELP YOU get your fondest dreams of wealth with this one time starter fee, webinar, or book.

So despite having enjoyed it very much while reading it I was left with a feeling of offness. I think the advice is sound and the stories are wonderful. I am ultimately glad that I read it but I don’t think I will go in search of her other books.

Leave a comment